Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1594
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#106 by fulalas » 28 Aug 2020, 06:33

Payoon wrote:
27 Aug 2020, 23:56
Hi Fulalas,
I am using the XFCE Desktop on Acer Aspire ES 15 notebook.
Try to change the shortcuts in Settings -> Keyboard -> Application Shortcuts tab -> xbacklight -dec / -inc.

Payoon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 78
Joined: 01 Mar 2013, 19:16
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 32 bit XFCE
Location: Duisburg, Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#107 by Payoon » 28 Aug 2020, 08:28

[SOLVED]

@fulalas
thanks for the reply. I have been at this point before and always tried to modifiy MonBrightness in

Code: Select all

xbacklight -inc 5 -steps 1 MonBrightnessDown
xbacklight -dec 5 -steps 1 MonBrightnessUp
to something like CTRL Up CTRL Down with no avail.
To solve it, both lines have to be removed completely. Then I can adjust brightness with the keyboard.

Thanks a lot.

Payoon

User avatar
Ed_P
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5700
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#108 by Ed_P » 28 Aug 2020, 16:44

roadie wrote:
25 Aug 2020, 03:53
As to the suspend issue, I can confirm this, a quick fix is using dconf-editor to change the settings. It's under org/cinnamon/setting-daemon/plugins/power
This works too. Changing the battery setting as guest with this code solved my problem.

Code: Select all

gsettings set org.cinnamon.settings-daemon.plugins.power lid-close-battery-action hibernate
Added in 6 hours 8 minutes 57 seconds:
And these are useful also.

Code: Select all

gsettings set org.cinnamon.settings-daemon.plugins.power lid-close-ac-action suspend
gsettings set org.cinnamon.settings-daemon.plugins.power lock-on-suspend true
:good:
Last edited by Ed_P on 17 Sep 2020, 15:36, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Changed suspend suggestion to hibernate.
Ed

mbos
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 19 May 2018, 10:55
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc2

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#109 by mbos » 02 Sep 2020, 20:11

Hi, first a big thank you for a great update to rc2!

I've already ironed out some issues but I'm having trouble figuring this one out.
I'm on LXQt and using firejail to secure apps with this flag:

Code: Select all

--read-only=dirname_or_filename
On rc1, it worked. If app tried to write to a flagged directory, it returned an error about readonly filesystem.
On rc2, it doesn't work. App can write to flagged directory without any problem.

The issue is likely related to how filesystem is layered as firejail also builds on that.
Could some changes to filesystem from rc1 to rc2 be the cause? :hmmm:

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1594
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#110 by fulalas » 02 Sep 2020, 21:58

@mbos, could try using RC1 kernel (remember to also change vmlinuz under /boot/syslinux)?

User avatar
babam
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus Xfce 3.2.2
Location: Rainy city

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#111 by babam » 03 Sep 2020, 08:02

Porteus Xfce
Cannot open / browse Samba files sharing (blank) via thunar or pcmanfm.

Porteus 3.2.2 (Xfce) and Porteus 5.0rc1 (Mate) is works.
Sorry, my English is bad.

mbos
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 19 May 2018, 10:55
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc2

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#112 by mbos » 03 Sep 2020, 16:31

I really like about Porteus, how easy it is to try things and just roll back :D

@fulalas Tried with vmlinuz and 000-kernel.xzm from rc1, but it it didn't help. Firejail still fails, plus got other errors.
Then I swapped 001-core.xzm as well and system didn't boot.

User avatar
Ed_P
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5700
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#113 by Ed_P » 03 Sep 2020, 17:37

Menu>Admin>bundles shows pysolfc-2.6.3-x86_64-alldesktops.xzm, for rc2 it should be pysolfc-2.6.4-x86_64-alldesktops.xzm.
Ed

maia
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 43
Joined: 08 Aug 2019, 16:56
Distribution: Porteus 5 rc2 < 64b Openbox
Location: Brasil

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#114 by maia » 03 Sep 2020, 20:44

I recently realized that the DBUS suspend function is not working properly at least in Openbox.

When I launch the command:
dbus-send --system --print-reply --dest="org.freedesktop.UPower" /org/freedesktop/UPower org.freedesktop.UPower.Suspend

I get the error message:
Error org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnknownMethod: No such method “Suspend”

The previous debus version (1.12.14) worked correctly against the current (1.12.20).
I was not able to understand if the problem is the version or some configuration file.

Does anyone else have the same problem? :%)
Sorry my English is bad.
My English is very very very bad.
My English is really, g##gle-tr4nsl4t0r

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2632
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#115 by ncmprhnsbl » 03 Sep 2020, 22:08

maia wrote:
03 Sep 2020, 20:44
When I launch the command:
dbus-send --system --print-reply --dest="org.freedesktop.UPower" /org/freedesktop/UPower org.freedesktop.UPower.Suspend
seems upower(the newer version we're using) doesn't have a "suspend" action (if this is anything to go by: https://upower.freedesktop.org/docs/UPo ... properties)
things to try:
a. use Hibernate instead of Suspend (although in my understanding Hibernate means suspend to disk, not ram) ... whether consolekit will work with this idk
(there's also HybridSleep, which i'm guessing is both (suspend to disk and ram at the same time)
or
b. getpkg upower (to get the older slackware current version of upower) and install or activate this, and see if Suspend is working with this..

slackware is looking at moving to elogind as a replacement for consolekit, so if/when that happens, this will all most likely change...
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3006
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#116 by Blaze » 04 Sep 2020, 06:23

babam wrote:
03 Sep 2020, 08:02
Cannot open / browse Samba files sharing (blank) via thunar or pcmanfm.
Open /etc/samba/smb.conf and remove these lines:

Code: Select all

-# In Samba 4.11.0 SMB1 is disabled by default.
-# Samba Team tries to get remove the SMB1 usage as much as possible.
-# We temporarily use this option:
-   client min protocol = NT1

Code: Select all

su
toor
chmod 755 /etc/rc.d/rc.samba
/etc/rc.d/rc.samba start
/etc/rc.d/rc.samba status
testparm
smbd -V
arp -a
Linux 5.4.57-porteus #1 SMP Sun Aug 9 09:03:28 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1594
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#117 by fulalas » 04 Sep 2020, 07:36

@mbos, I'm not sure why firejail is not working anymore. I tried it here, but it only works if I run it and stay doing things in the same terminal instance, so file managers or other terminal instances won't be affected (i.e. selected folder won't be read only). :unknown:

Is it supposed to change file/folder permissions? If so, testing on Porteus 5 RC1 change it (try this command: ls -la).

But if you just want to make some folder read only you can use chmod:

Code: Select all

chmod -w -R dirname_or_filename

User avatar
babam
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus Xfce 3.2.2
Location: Rainy city

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#118 by babam » 04 Sep 2020, 11:03

Blaze wrote:
04 Sep 2020, 06:23
Open /etc/samba/smb.conf and remove these lines:

Code: Select all

-# In Samba 4.11.0 SMB1 is disabled by default.
-# Samba Team tries to get remove the SMB1 usage as much as possible.
-# We temporarily use this option:
-   client min protocol = NT1

Code: Select all

su
toor
chmod 755 /etc/rc.d/rc.samba
/etc/rc.d/rc.samba start
/etc/rc.d/rc.samba status
testparm
smbd -V
arp -a
OK, I'll try.

Thanks.
Sorry, my English is bad.

maia
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 43
Joined: 08 Aug 2019, 16:56
Distribution: Porteus 5 rc2 < 64b Openbox
Location: Brasil

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#119 by maia » 04 Sep 2020, 12:32

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
03 Sep 2020, 22:08
eems upower(the newer version we're using) doesn't have a "suspend" action
ncmprhnsbi thanks for the answer. :)

Thanks for the answer.
I will initially try the 'b' option
Sorry my English is bad.
My English is very very very bad.
My English is really, g##gle-tr4nsl4t0r

maia
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 43
Joined: 08 Aug 2019, 16:56
Distribution: Porteus 5 rc2 < 64b Openbox
Location: Brasil

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#120 by maia » 04 Sep 2020, 13:19

Unfortunately it didn't work.
Option "a" HybridSleep occurs the same as using suspend: UnknownMethod:
Option "b" removed 0.99.11 and re-installed 0.9.23 and presented an error.

Probably or go back to pm-suspend :)
Sorry my English is bad.
My English is very very very bad.
My English is really, g##gle-tr4nsl4t0r

Post Reply