How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
miroslaw
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Oct 2020, 13:19
Distribution: 5.01rc

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#1 by miroslaw » 10 Oct 2020, 18:20

Hello guys!

I've used Porteus 5.01 Cinamon for 6 months. Currently I use 5.01RC and I want to update my system to new relase 5.02RC, but I don't know how :(
Could somebody tell me how to update to new relase and save my customized settings (ex. run from RAM as default, don't mount disc on startup, mouse settings ect.)

thank you in advance!

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2708
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#2 by ncmprhnsbl » 11 Oct 2020, 02:18

hi, welcome to the forum :)
presuming that you've installed to a usb or similar drive..
first, backup somewhere(the files on your RC1 install) and then copy(the files from RC2 ISO(after mounting it)) these files:

Code: Select all

boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
porteus/base/001-core.xzm
porteus/base/002-xorg.xzm
porteus/base/002-xtra.xzm (new in RC2)
porteus/base/003-cinnamon.xzm
no guarantees that you changes will be 100% compatible, there's only one way to find out ;)
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

miroslaw
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Oct 2020, 13:19
Distribution: 5.01rc

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#3 by miroslaw » 11 Oct 2020, 19:09

Hi, I did this way, but now I have fresh clean system and during start system shows info as on picture:
Image

could you help me with this issue?

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5799
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#4 by Ed_P » 11 Oct 2020, 21:16

Go to the Porteus Menu > Admin > Porteus Save File Manager and create a save.dat file on your device. Mine is approximately 400MB. Once created edit your Porteus start codes and add the changes= cheatcode to them.

Or if you prefer add changes=EXIT: to them , the advantage of the EXIT option is your changes aren't save to disk until you shutdown which makes the system run faster on flash drives. Another advantage is if you screw up a change or try something you don't like when shutting down you have to the option to not save your changes.

If you are booting using grub you add the changes= cheatcode to the /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz command line. If you are booting from an install you add the changes= cheatcode to the /boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg APPEND line.

Some examples:

Code: Select all

LABEL GRAPHICAL
MENU LABEL Graphics mode
KERNEL /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
INITRD /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
APPEND changes=EXIT:UUID:8486-DDC5/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=UUID:8486-DDC5/Modules
TEXT HELP
    Run Porteus the best way we can.
    Try to autoconfigure graphics
    card and use the maximum
    allowed resolution
ENDTEXT

Code: Select all

menuentry "Porteus - installed" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

     search -f /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz --set=root

     echo "USB root is:          "$root
     echo "Porteus folders:      /"

     set porteus_parms="extramod=/Modules;/Modsavedat changes=EXIT:/porteus/porteussave.dat volume=33 reboot=cold"

     echo "Porteus parms are:    "$porteus_parms
     echo

     linux /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz $porteus_parms
     initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     echo "Booting Porteus"
}
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2708
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#5 by ncmprhnsbl » 12 Oct 2020, 12:40

miroslaw wrote:
11 Oct 2020, 19:09
could you help me with this issue?
so.. if you were using a changes folder before, i would assume that your drive is formatted posix(ext*)? if not, i've no idea how that was working...
if it is posix and you're getting that message, something's wrong...
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

miroslaw
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Oct 2020, 13:19
Distribution: 5.01rc

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#6 by miroslaw » 12 Oct 2020, 16:21

hello,

yes my drive is formated ext* and i used changes folder. I'll check ed_p's solution and let you know. thanks

EDIT:
When i change in porteus.cfg there is no notification as on my screen, but system run still without my custiomizations (ex. wallpaper, theme) :(

Code: Select all


LABEL GRAPHICAL
MENU LABEL Graphics mode
KERNEL /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
INITRD /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
APPEND changes=/porteus copy2ram
TEXT HELP
    Run Porteus the best way we can.
    Try to autoconfigure graphics
    card and use the maximum
    allowed resolution
ENDTEXT

It's strange, beceuse i get back to files from 5.0rc1 (clean iso) /boot and /porteus and thats also don't work
hmm

gj_gruber
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 18 Dec 2019, 14:14
Distribution: v5x86-64

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#7 by gj_gruber » 13 Oct 2020, 13:37

Hi team

for Porteus 5.0rc2 Mate Desktop + 000-kernel.xzm and mvlinux update, the CAJA output :

:~# caja
Could not register the application: Timeout was reached

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5799
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#8 by Ed_P » 14 Oct 2020, 15:56

miroslaw wrote:
12 Oct 2020, 16:21
yes my drive is formated ext* and i used changes folder. I'll check ed_p's solution and let you know. thanks
That's not what your image says.
Image

miroslaw wrote:
12 Oct 2020, 16:21
When i change in porteus.cfg there is no notification as on my screen, but system run still without my custiomizations (ex. wallpaper, theme) :(
Where is the file you are changing? /mnt/sdb1/boot/syslinux/?
Ed

miroslaw
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Oct 2020, 13:19
Distribution: 5.01rc

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#9 by miroslaw » 14 Oct 2020, 17:22

hi Ed_p,
Here: mnt/sdca2/boot/syslinux
My system don't want to load my customization after change boot/syslinux/vmlinuz and boot/syslinux/initrd.xz files, but i don't save previous files..
I think that must be the way to get my Porteus 5.01rc back. I have coppy of folder /Porteus and Porteussave.dat file.
have you any other ideas? :D

Thank You! :worship:

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5799
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#10 by Ed_P » 14 Oct 2020, 21:42

There is another cfg file on your system and the boot files are finding it. Are you sure the boot files are being run from /mnt/sdca2? How are you booting sdca2, via EFI, BIOS, a boot manager?

On the other hand some good news, if you have a Porteussave.dat file from 5.0rc1, copy it to the sdca2 drive's module folder and rename it Porteussave.dat.xzm. I've used that approach to save my changes for years.
Ed

miroslaw
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Oct 2020, 13:19
Distribution: 5.01rc

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#11 by miroslaw » 15 Oct 2020, 12:15

Yes I'm sure. because when i change sth in mnt/sdca2/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg it change durring start as well.
I'm booting via Bios and i'm using pendrive with 2 partitions (FAT - for files visable for windows/linux and ext* -for Porteus).

I moved Porteussave.dat.xzm to modules, but it don't start. (Firefox from this folder starts fine.. ) hmmmmmmm

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5799
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#12 by Ed_P » 15 Oct 2020, 16:14

miroslaw wrote:
15 Oct 2020, 12:15
Yes I'm sure. because when i change sth in mnt/sdca2/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg it change durring start as well.
:%) Confused. "sth"? And "it change durring start", I thought your cfg changes were not showing during start. :%)
I moved Porteussave.dat.xzm to modules, but it don't start. (Firefox from this folder starts fine.. ) hmmmmmmm
It's possible your porteussave.dat file is empty if your /changes are on the ext partition. The file is for systems run
on FAT partitions.

What folders do you have on each partition?
Ed

miroslaw
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Oct 2020, 13:19
Distribution: 5.01rc

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#13 by miroslaw » 22 Oct 2020, 20:25

Hi, I was tired and i've formated my pendrive to fat32 installed new system customize and made porteussave.dat.
Now I'm happy Porteus user again. Many thanks for help me to know how Porteus works :beer:

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5799
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

How to update Porteus 5.01RC to 5.02RC?

Post#14 by Ed_P » 23 Oct 2020, 05:48

:Yahoo!: Thanks for the update miroslaw. :good:
Ed

Post Reply