Page 1 of 13

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 16 Jun 2019, 20:06
by Ed_P
Please post v5.0rc1 errors/bugs/problems here.

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 00:15
by cchuang
Great, long-time waiting since last version released. Where can I find 005-deve.xzm as previous versions? Thanks for your team!

cch

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 01:23
by quotaholic
Nice release! I have RTL8821CE and also need 05-devel. Git too. Also kernel sources. Trackpad does not work. Its an Elan 1200. Shutdown seems to hang forever on deactivating volume groups as I have some lvms on local machine with f2fs partitions within.

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 01:38
by jssouza

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 05:02
by AcnapyxoB
Congratulations for new Porteus.
After booting v5.0rc1 all drives (HD, flash) are inaccessible for some time. Also Nemo in Cinnamon or Thunar in XFCE are unresponsive for same time!
Tested on two machines.

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 07:36
by nanZor
Awesome - testing out the XFCE4 version on 4 different machine right now.

But instead of just one long thread, should we make each bug an individual topic in a dedicated subforum? Make it easier to reference....

tbc...

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 07:39
by nanZor
Boot splash inconsistent:

One of my boxes uses "legacy video" in bios, despite being UEFI enabled. What is weird, is on that one, I can see the current status of the login's, that is..

In the upper right, the boot splash details about using root : toor, and guest : guest. OK cool.

But on my other 3 boxes I'm testing with, I don't see this text in the upper right of the boot splash at all.
Interesting. Not a showstopper.

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 07:44
by nanZor
Video just stays black until I move and click the mouse - only on one box out of the 4 I am testing with.

I noticed that the video autoconfiguration takes a bit longer than usual on my 4 machines. But on one older Intel computestick that used to run Win 8.1 (circa 2015), after the initial boot, the screen stays dark forever.

UNTIL, I click and move the mouse to make it start thinking. After that, the screen gets autoconfigured and works. Again, only one machine, the older computestick, exhibits this seemingly endless black video delay until I tickle the mouse.

Note: This is unrelated to the older known issue of Intel Atom cpu's needing the special intel_idle.max_cstate=1 cheatcode.

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 08:21
by raja
kernel sync error..panic! ISO boot

Please check whether vmlinuz,000-kernel,xzm inside ISO same as listed separately. in the d/l page.

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 08:23
by nanZor
LIVE USB creator tool no su gui found

Ok, the live usb creator brings up a message box wanting you to drop to the commandline as root to start the tool manually.

Yet other tools that need root access can be done by entering "toor" into the messagebox that pops up and continuing on immediately.

Is this a special security issue, or can we bring the simple message box warning and entering "toor" into it be ok for creating live-usb's like the other utilities?

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 13:40
by bour59
hello thanks!
live usb create : Error illegal ISO file
... using xfce iso

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 17:14
by Ed_P
The problem

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# slackyd -u

Repository: slackware [www.slackware.at]
`- Downloading FILELIST.TXT [File Not Found]             

Warning: cannot retreive all file (0/8). Trying next: nothing
The fix

Code: Select all

/etc/slackyd/slackyd.conf

Change this:
# Official mirror is too slow...
!repository ftp://ftp.slackware.com/pub/slackware/slackware64-13.37/

repository = http://www.slackware.at/data/slackware64-current/

To this:
# Official mirror is too slow...
repository ftp://ftp.slackware.com/pub/slackware/slackware64-13.37/

!repository = http://www.slackware.at/data/slackware64-current/
brokenman wrote:
17 Jun 2019, 18:37
@Ed_P don't do that. You uncommented slackware-13.37 which was even before slackware-14. Find another current mirror.

Thank you. :)

This seems to work for current.

Code: Select all

!repository = http://www.slackware.at/data/slackware64-current/

repository http://slack.conraid.net/repository/slackware64-current/

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 18:37
by brokenman
@Ed_P don't do that. You uncommented slackware-13.37 which was even before slackware-14. Find another current mirror.

@nanZor you can invoke a su GUI by using pkexec. Even better use our own script.
/opt/porteus-scripts/org/psu /usr/bin/gparted (psu is porteus su)

Please be aware that the kernel and module 000-kernel are matching pairs. If you change one you must change the other.

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 19:53
by quotaholic
jssouza wrote:
17 Jun 2019, 01:38
You can find them here:
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v5.0/kernel/
Thank you!!

Forgot to mention had to enable legacy boot. Tried gpt formatted usb at first. Had to go msdos. Possibly I got spoiled by Nemesis but that refind booting worked quite well on my hardware.

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Posted: 17 Jun 2019, 20:32
by nanZor
Found a symptom of this problem on this one cranky box.

Seems related to wireless. The older 2015 Intel computestick will sit at a black screen once the initial boot is done forever until I click the mouse.

HOWEVER, if I boot with a known good wireless dongle attached, video will autoconfigure in a reasonable amount of time. I'll have to check to see if this stick is using broadcom, rather than intel wifi.

nanZor wrote:
17 Jun 2019, 07:44
Video just stays black until I move and click the mouse - only on one box out of the 4 I am testing with.

I noticed that the video autoconfiguration takes a bit longer than usual on my 4 machines. But on one older Intel computestick that used to run Win 8.1 (circa 2015), after the initial boot, the screen stays dark forever.

UNTIL, I click and move the mouse to make it start thinking. After that, the screen gets autoconfigured and works. Again, only one machine, the older computestick, exhibits this seemingly endless black video delay until I tickle the mouse.

Note: This is unrelated to the older known issue of Intel Atom cpu's needing the special intel_idle.max_cstate=1 cheatcode.